2017 – A Promising New Year

It’s been a while since I last updated my blog or my Flickr, except sporadically. I had decided to take a bit of a hiatus to focus on my work and get away from the somewhat frustrating bubble that was and still is Flickr. While Flickr is a lovely way to share your work, the popularity driven nature of it (well known photographers get tons of likes while lesser known yet skilled photographers get few if any) can be disheartening. Not to mention, it wasn’t really helping me grow as an artist in the outside world.

So what have I been doing over the past two years?

After a wonderful year of exposure that came from participating in the Blue Sky Drawers program, I had three solo shows. In 2015, I showed work at Stonehenge Studios Gallery and Cameraworks Gallery, followed by a handful of group shows in 2016 and then ended last year with a another solo show at the recently opened Wolff Gallery. All three solo shows were fairly successful and great exposure – with the latest show resulting with an interview on NPR (you can listen to it here). I have definitely grown as an artist and I look forward to working harder and doing more this year.

As 2017 gets underway, I already have plans for new projects in the works. I haven’t been attempting any 365 projects of late – mostly because it’s hard for me to fit into my busy work schedule – so I haven’t made as much work as I have in the past. One of my goals for this year is to set aside time each week to shoot or plan photography. I usually have Fridays off at work, so that’s an ideal day to try and get work done. We’ll see how that goes. A second goal is to enter competitions again or at a portfolio review. I’ve wanted to enter Photolucida’s Critical Mass for a couple of years now but haven’t had a series ready for it. After my last show, I think I may have what I need to enter this year. A mentor/art friend also suggested applying for grants, which would help a lot as most of my shoots require props, settings and costumes and the cost of those things sometimes prevents a shoot from happening at all.

The past couple of years have definitely taught me to get better at planning, waiting and allowing projects the time they need to happen. I’m getting more patient and that’s a good thing. I’m looking forward to 2017.

 

 

About dream24seven

Designer by day, photographer whenever I have the time.

Leave a Reply

