Ah 2013…

So 2013 was a bit of an adventure. I was unemployed. I had two weddings (my friend’s and my own) to plan. I started new job. I had craft fairs to attend. And I had a lot of upcoming design projects. So some time in March, I quickly realized that I wasn’t going to be doing much shooting this year.

Last year I did a photographic year in review to start off the year. I’ve decided to postpone that this time. Partly because I shot very little and partly because some of what I shot is not even edited yet. Sadly, I was bad at producing work last year, but I plan to share what I created in 2013 quite soon.

But, it was still a good photography year for me. I submitted to more shows and showed more work in 2013 than the year before. I had a few pieces published in magazines and there were some wonderful blog posts written about my work. So I still feel that I was growing even if I wasn’t taking a photo a week or even once a month.

That said, I really want to get back to shooting more often. I no longer have the excuses of “major life events” to stop me and I feel that I’ve finally gotten to the point where I need to find the time to shoot.

I received a new camera over the holidays (a much needed upgrade) and I have a little commemorative project planned that should help me get back into the swing of things rather soon.

2014 is looking promising.

About dream24seven

Designer by day, photographer whenever I have the time.

Leave a Reply

