Slow edits… (week 2)

Please forgive me for falling behind a little – I was having artistic difficulties.

I have been incredibly slow with editing photos lately. Somehow they are just taking longer to “look right”. And when that happens, I close Photoshop and take a break from that photo until I can look at it logically and figure out what to do next. It’s incredibly frustrating, but hopefully it’s just a sign that I needed a break. And now I’ve taken that break – so yeah, brain, get back with being awesome at photo editing in one sitting.

This was taken the same day I shot “Circle of Words”. It was actually the original shoot idea, but became a second option after I did more planning. I like it, but it is a very “sweet” shoot – far more innocent and less sinister. The orchard we shot in is my favorite place on Sauvie Island now. Free apples, beautiful grounds and a historic building (Bybee Howell) all in the same place – what’s not to love?

I’m so pleased with how this shoot turned out – especially since it nearly didn’t happen. It was our last day in Hoquiam and I woke up late – thankfully the weather was on my side. It was overcast and very windy and I had a little extra time on my hands. So I gathered up all my equipment, hopped into the car and drove to the flats to shoot.

It was sooo windy. I didn’t have to do much – in fact, I was happy when it wasn’t windy. I had to keep chasing down papers between shots because I didn’t want to litter. The BF showed up later with his sister and they watched/assisted with the last bits before we wrapped.

So far Project 104 has been good for me. It’s given me the chance to breath and plan and the results are so much better for it. And I will admit I’m a week behind – last week was insane – but I’m quickly catching up.

About dream24seven

Designer by day, photographer whenever I have the time.

3 comments

  1. Just wanted to say you have a great site and thanks for posting!…

  2. Really nice photos, the bottom picture reminds me of something from a Cohen Brothers movie. I think the spilled apples in the top pic does give it a nice, but subtle, sinister feel. Lovve it, and im a little curious how you achieved it 😉

    • Thanks!
      The first photo is a composite of a few shots – one of the background, a second with the model jumping and a third of her stationary but posed as if in mid-air. Then with a bit of Photoshop magic, I put them all together and tweak it a little here and there to make it look believable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

