48+49/366. I took a break to clear my head…

I’ve been away for a little while. Some of it was to deal with the hell that is taxes – the worst of it being due to having a small business – and the rest was that I was tired of shooting for shooting sake. At the end of the day, I want to create a body of work and I was fed up with the results of last minute scrambles that were mediocre and usually not my favorite. So I took a little time away to clear my mind, think/brainstorm and do something else.

As usual, I missed taking photos. So after a few weeks, I found myself back in the studio and shooting.

These photos were actually taken in March, before my hiatus, but I held off editing them until I had the time and the right mindset. I really like how they turned out. The idea was about how you’re never alone in your mind – even in the quietest moments – that’s when your inner critic, your alternate selves always find a way to pester you. The model is the ever lovely Jenn Rachel.

This last photo is one of my favorite. I think it and the one above could easily stand alone. And although I initially cursed my camera/computer as I dealt with my moody, darkly lit composition, I love how it reminds me of old paintings. I’ll probably play around with a similar set up again pretty soon.

Now that I’m active again, I’ve been plotting a few self-portraits and preparing for some collaborative projects with models in the future now that the weather has been improving. There’s also a portfolio review I hope to attend and a slew of photo competitions I plan to enter.

Spring is looking to be very very busy.

About dream24seven

Designer by day, photographer whenever I have the time.

One comment

Leave a Reply

