75/365 – A Walk in the Clouds

Today I took a walk in the clouds. Well, to be more accurate, I pretended to take a walk by standing on a little white stool surrounded by cotton stuffing in front of a blue backdrop in my garage. This was probably the easiest shoot to set up – EVER- and actually a lot of fun.

I’ve always wanted to walk/play/have fun in clouds since I saw the Care Bears as a child. Then someone crushed my dreams with science facts about clouds being made of vapor and how they could never hold the weight of anything solid. Maybe that’s why I decided to shoot this – to rebel against logic and enjoy my childhood dream.

I’m getting more and more used to using the garage as a studio set up – although it’s still pretty rough. The space is narrow and short (probably no higher than 7′), so it’s pretty small for full body work or anything incredibly active. So I avoid shooting anything but close portraits or scenes with sitting/standing. My next purchase will probably be a free-standing backdrop stand so I can use drops in other, taller parts of the house.

An outtake (although I like this as much as the main photo):

About dream24seven

Designer by day, photographer whenever I have the time.

Leave a Reply

