25/365

I made it to 25 days! I wish this had been a happier moment, but the shoot leading up to this shot was hardly what you could call successful. Terrible weather and a busy life make for an unhappy photographer. I love shooting with natural light far more than strobes (and not because I’m trying to be lazy) and haven’t been able to do that lately. Couple that with discomfort about my body (self-portraiture has a curious way of making you far more self concious) and I start to loathe getting in front of the camera. But the bigger issue is planning. Coming up with ideas is definitely not the problem. I list potential ideas everyday (in fact I have two lists or more) and keep an inspiration journal. I’ve even been gathering a small collection of props and adding to my costume/fabric/wig stash when I can. The biggest issue I’ve had lately has been making my ideas happen in a limited amount of time and light (except for weekends when I have all the time in the world). I’m going to have to start thinking differently – perhaps organizing everything so I have back up ideas when rain or life get in the way.

But in the end, I have to keep reminding myself that this project is all about taking chances. Sometimes the results will be great and sometimes…not so great.

About dream24seven

Designer by day, photographer whenever I have the time.

Leave a Reply

